UX improvements

A while ago, @EhmAyWithE took a look over the website and sent me a long email with a load of suggestions in. As I’m an expert at not getting round to reading or dealing with things like that, it’s sat in my inbox ever since. The other day I asked him if I could repost it here, and he agreed, so we can throw it all open for discussion. Here goes:

You’ll have to bear with this email coz its going to be a bit brain dumpy! I have been doing a bit of thinking and playing around in Photoshop. If I had more time this would be a lot more interactive but I’ve created some pages you can click sequentially through. The branding is just something I stuck in for myself - for want of having some colour for highlights - I am not suggesting changes on that front (at the moment!). Also it sorta gives me an idea of tone of voice.

Concept wise I am looking at how to promote engagement on the site - with the content on the site being a driver to discussion around issues which can then be steered towards the open manifesto.

Mockup:

https://live.uxpin.com/80f3fe007120e4363316c8d5a2d32f3a1311ee3f#/pages/50025736

Password is floppy

Page 1 - 4

Home page/landing page.

Hero - Best and easiest way to explain what the party is all about is with a video. SN should have one.

Lower - 4 big bold tabs with the overview of the party.

End of video message should be something saying how easy SN make it to get involved in politics. The sign up could be a two stage transition, ‘What is your name? What is your email?’ form (like this - http://tympanus.net/Development/FullscreenForm/) and social sign on.

Page 5/6

Home page once signed in

And this might scare you…

Once people have signed up their homepage looks very much like a news site. For this mock up I have ripped off Vox because they have some really good ideas. Main stories and below there is a ‘campaign’ - a series of stories that are grouped.

Each story needs the following: